Joyce L. Connery, Chair Thomas A. Summers, Vice Chair Jessie H. Roberson

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



July 29, 2021

The Honorable Jennifer M. Granholm Secretary of Energy US Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Granholm:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board is pleased to recognize that the Department of Energy has awarded Mr. Jeffrey Edlund of the National Nuclear Security Administration the 2020 Annual Safety System Oversight (SSO) Award.

Mr. Edlund has demonstrated outstanding leadership by identifying numerous areas for nuclear safety improvements at the Y-12 National Security Complex. He also provided significant support and oversight during an emergency associated with a hydrogen fluoride leak at the Building 9212 Oxide Conversion Facility. These and other accomplishments make Mr. Edlund well deserving of this professional honor.

The Board joins DOE and its field office managers in acknowledging the importance of the contributions made by all of DOE's SSO engineers and extends its sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Edlund. The Board invites Mr. Edlund to meet with its executives during his next visit to the Washington, DC, area.

Sincerely,

Joyce L. Connery

Chair

Enclosure

c: Dr. Charles P. Verdon

Ms. Teresa Robbins

Dr. David Bowman

Mr. Jeffrey Edlund

Mr. Joe Olencz